top of page
  • Peter Macnaughton

Fiftieth Anniversary Dinner

The Fiftieth Anniversary Dinner of the Canadian Nordic Society was held November 16, 2013 at the Restaurant International, School of Hospitality and Tourism, Algonquin College, with over 70 members in attendance. Attendees included H.E. Neils Boel Abrahamsen, Ambassador of Denmark, H.E. Thordur Óskarsson, Ambassador of Iceland, and H.E. Mona Elizabeth Brother, Royal Norwegian Ambassador. George Hynnä, current and also a past president, introduced the other past presidents including Lars Öhman (also honourary president of CNS) , Ed Napke, Lennard Sillanpää, Leena Sillanpää, Per Talgoy, Ed Jull, Karin Birnbaum, Doreen Riedel. George mentioned that Jack Ives and Lars Öhman were founding members of CNS, back in 1963. Some spouses of past presidents and several past (and current) members of the executive were also in attendance.

Diner was exquisite – each plate was a work of art, prepared by 20 student chefs, served by others from the school. After coffee was served, all the staff paraded out to be thanked by the participants. One student gave a short outline of the nature of the school itself, and her interest in the event. It is a nice feeling to have enjoyed a wonderful meal and helped a new generation in the process. On behalf of all attendees, Doreen Riedel thanked the organizers Bruce Miller, Lennart Nylund and Tullika Bens-Bruchner for an event to remember.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page