top of page


The Canadian Nordic Society celebrates the links and common interests between Canada and the Nordic countries: Iceland, Norway, Denmark, Sweden, and Finland. Our members experience the culture of the Nordic countries and learn about their economic, social, political, and physical landscapes through an exciting program of speakers, social events, and celebrations. Our speaker series has featured eminent Canadians and visitors including ambassadors, explorers, scientists, academics, film directors, former Prime Ministers, and well-known authors.

The Canadian Nordic Society is based in Canada's National Capital Region. We encourage everyone with an interest in the Nordic countries to apply for membership in the Canadian Nordic Society. Our membership is made up of both Canadians and non-Canadians. The serving ambassador of each Nordic country is an Honorary Member.

We are proud of our long history. The Canadian Nordic Society was established in 1963. Our founding president, the late Dan Harris, was presented with the Order of the Northern Star by Prince Bertil of Sweden, in recognition of his services in promoting Sweden in Canada.

The Canadian Nordic Society continues to explore new themes and topics of interest in this ever-changing world, where the Nordic countries frequently offer unique and innovative approaches to dealing with issues that affect us all.

We welcome suggestions for topics and speakers for our speaker series.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
bottom of page